All the latest news!

Arts Awards 2023: Your Winners

Find the shortlists and winners of all of this year's awards ceremony!


This year's Arts Awards at Rootstein Hopkins Centre, London College of Fashion John Prince's St, were a huge success! Thank you to everyone who nominated someone for an award, came along and celebrated, and most importantly, contributed to making UAL a better place to be.

The Arts Awards celebrate excellence in our students' academic experience and every year, getting together to honour this is a great way to kick off the end-of-year celebrations. Below is a list of all the award categories, the shortlists, and the winners!

Staff & Student Collaboration

Winner: Yang Ho Anson Wong


  • Patricia Santos Vidal – CSM, Stage 2 Leader BA Architecture
  • Edward Webb-Ingall – LCC, Senior Lecturer BA (Hons) Film and Screen Studies
  • David Povilaika
  • Michael Ka Chun Li (Michael Li)
  • Thom Kaczmarek – LCC, Senior Lecturer in Games Design
  • Kanika Kalra
  • Nathan Lustgarten – LCC, UX Design Support Technician

Making A Difference

Winner: Anna Troisi – CCI, Course Leader - BSc Creative Computing and Hannah Breslin - Educational Developer (Employability)


  • Melissa Moore – LCF, Course Leader: BA (Hons) Hair and Make-up for Fashion
  • Thom Kaczmarek – LCC, Senior Lecturer in Games Design
  • Soljana Çili - LCF, Senior Lecturer: Psychology
  • Geraint Evans – CCW, Pathway Leader MA Painting
  • Giles Last – CSM, Course Leader - BA Jewellery Design
  • Irtiza Nasar - CCI, Senior Lecturer Diploma and Graduate Diploma Creative Computing
  • Anna Nwankwo – LCF, Senior Lecturer Fashion Media Programme
  • Marianne Martin – LCF, Associate lecturer in Perfumery
  • Shibboleth Shechter – CCW, Course Leader BA Interior and Spatial Design
  • Ana Stankovic-Fitzgerald - LCF, Lecturer: BA (Hons) Fashion Imaging and Illustration
  • Kleanthis Kyriakou – CSM, Stage 2 Leader BA Architecture
  • Marta Glinska - Student Adviser
  • Noel Bramley – CCW, Foundation Studies Specialist Option Leader Illustration
  • Sanjeev Davidson – LCF, Lecturer: Creative Enterprise

Student Community Contribution

Winners: Kuba Wieczorek, Alyshia Jack, and Julia-Anna Simonchuk


  • Catarina Moreira Spratley de Sousa Rio
  • Jemima Greenhalgh
  • Finlay (Fin) Sales
  • Cecilie Christensen
  • Josef Back
  • Yuxuan (Kim) Huang
  • Finn Weaver

Student Rep of the Year

CCW Winner: Nerijus Malinauskas


  • Alex Jordan Chan
  • Sophie Yau
  • Zac Slater
  • Jiaqiu Li
  • Marcia Pedraza Sierra
  • Nol Netprom
  • Grace Hime
  • Huiyi Yin
  • Joel Nanton

CSM Winner: Nicky Backlund


  • Tatiana Davis
  • Torben Lillegraven

LCC Winner: Monica Dhaka


  • Ahinora Stancheva
  • Travis Yu
  • Danna Petersen
  • Karen Maley
  • Angad Wadia & Federico Pernechele
  • Anna Kroeger

LCF Winner: Jemima Greenhalgh


  • Emily Ebbels
  • Matti Scicluna
  • Bella Magee
  • Dan Coleman
  • Peng-Hsuan Ho (Bonnie)
  • Mia Dyson

Student Campaigner of the Year

Winner: Jasmijn Toffano & Ruby Gamman-Wragg and Sude Korkmaz


  • Poojitha Lal
  • Annie Purdy

Outstanding Teaching Award

CCW Winner: Mike Hankin - Senior Lecturer Year 3 Leader BA Product and Furniture Design


  • Joel Gethin Lewis – CCI, Senior Lecturer in Creative Computing and Course Leader Apple Dev
  • Noel Bramley – CCW, Foundation Studies Specialist Option Leader Illustration
  • Colin Priest – CCW, Senior Lecturer in BA & MA Spatial Design
  • Sam Butterfield – CCW, 2nd Year Leader BA Interior Design
  • Francis Lofthouse - Visiting Practitioner
  • Chrystel Lebas – Foundation Studies Specialist Option Leader Design - Photography&Time Based Media

CSM Winner: Jonathan Kearney  - Course Leader- MA Visual Arts: Fine Art Digital


  • Jonathan Flint  - Lecturer in Design and Fabrication MA Biodesign
  • Richard Reynolds - Course Leader MA Applied Imagination in the Creative Industries
  • Caterina Albano - Reader

LCC Winner: Henrietta Ross - Course Leader MA Data Visualisation


  • Cassian Osborne-Carey - Senior Lecturer in Communications and Media
  • Peter Ocampo - Associate Lecturer
  • Mo-Ling Chui - Senior Lecturer in BA Design Management
  • Herman Ho - Lecturer in Games Design
  • Leigh Clarke - Senior Lecturer BA Illustration&Visual Media
  • Stacey Leigh Ross - Associate Lecturer

LCF Winner: Diogo Baltazar - Course Leader MSc Cosmetic Science


  • Minal Kay Malik - Lecturer in Fashion Marketing
  • Koki Kang - Lecturer in Design Development and 3D Realisation
  • Katelyn Toth-Fejel - Course Leader: MA Fashion Futures
  • Stacia Bedford - Course Leader: MA Fashion Entrepreneurship and Innovation
  • Young-Jin Hur - Course Leader - MSc Applied Psychology in Fashion

Technical & Operational Support Award

CCW Winner: Peter Mackenzie -  Creative Computing and Robotics Technical Coordinator


  • Tyson Howard - Specialist Technician (L&T) 3D Workshops - 3D Digital
  • James Duck - Specialist Technician (L&T) 3D Workshops - Ceramics
  • Josef Konczak - Specialist Technician (L&T) Photography Workshops & Studios

CSM Winner: Linsay Robinson - Specialist Technician - Weave


  • Alessia De Oliveira Rocha Catani - Associate Lecturer
  • Paula Corsini - Specialist Technician Grow Lab
  • Paul Dewis - Specialist Technician Printmaking

LCC Winner: Thom Kaczmarec - Senior Lecturer in Games Design


  • Derek Wiafe - Senior Lecturer Photography
  • Alba Duque - Music Production Support Technician

LCF Winner: Dean Kincaid - Specialist Technician: Technical Effects


  • Carmel Lally - Technical Coordinator: Science Technical Resources
  • Dawit Adenager - Specialist Technician: Garment Technology
  • Karen Colhoun - Specialist Technician (Learning and Teaching): Sportswear
  • Sean-Henry Fitzsimons - Specialist Technician (Learning and Teaching) – Knit
  • Stacia Bedford - Course Leader: MA Fashion Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Postgraduate Supervisor of the Year

Winner: Mick Grierson - Professor and Research Leader - UAL Institute for Creative Computing


  • Mark Ingham – LCC, Reader in Critical and Nomadic Pedagogies
  • Andrew Marsh – CSM, Course Leader MA Arts and Cultural Enterprise
  • Diana Donaldson – LCF, Senior Lecturer for Fashion Media
  • Diana Ibanez Lopez – CSM, Course Leader MA Cities
  • Ellen Hanceri – LCC, Senior Lecturer in BA Illustration and Visual Media

Student Voice Champion

Winner: Elizabeth Peebles – CCW Fine Art Programme Senior Lecturer; Year 3 Leader BA Fine Art


  • Anna Troisi – CCI, Course Leader - BSc Creative Computing
  • Romero Bryan – LCC, Lecturer in Design Entrepreneurship
  • Alix Hanson – LCF, College Admissions Tutor

Social Justice & Sustainability Award

Winners: Romero Bryan – LCC, Lecturer in Design Entrepreneurship and Anna Schlimm – LCC,  Lecturer - MA Design for Social Innovation and Sustainable Futures


  • Leslie Crombie – LCC, Associate Lecturer
  • Lewis Bush – LCC, Course Leader in Photojournalism and Documentary Photography
  • Tim Stephens – Teaching Enhancement Team, Educational Developer (Curriculum)

Related articles

Become a Student Trustee!

Want to gain business and finance experience, all while helping your mates and improving your Uni experience? Then become a Student Trustee!

Wed 22 May 2024

Your Access to Studios: Update

Hear from CCW Officer Lexa about the latest updates to our work on your access to studio and workshop spaces across UAL.

Fri 17 May 2024

Arts SU Launches Commuting Report

Arts Students' Union today launches our groundbreaking report of our research into the experiences of students who commute at University of the Arts London.

Mon 29 Apr 2024